Why Would I Want To Change My Firmware?

christo930

I've seen in a few posts people saying that firmware 2.1 is the
"best
" firmware and that it is "better" than 3.0 and 2.0. My machine has FW 3.0, which is the one it came with. Suppose I reflashed my firmware to 2.1, what advantages would I have? Would the machine be faster? Do the built in apps have more features or run faster? Does the movie player have more features or more codec support? Would I be able to overclock more (Right now I can't get over 240 in most apps, which is not overclocking at all)? I've heard that 2.1 boots slightly faster, but other than that, as an end user what advantages would I see? Also, I have lots of experience flashing bioses and stuff (having worked as a computer technician), but are there any special considerations besides making sure to be on AC power or on freshly charged rechargables? Is flashing a gp2x especially prone to failure (having seen alot of people brick their units)?

Thanks,
Chris

The main differences are that boot time for 2.1 is faster and the menu is different - you get a utilities menu instead of the help.

Flashing is always a risk. Read this.

Last edited by a moderator:
Parkydr said:
The main differences are that boot time for 2.1 is faster and the menu is different - you get a utilities menu instead of the help.

Flashing is always a risk. Read this.

Thanks, I read the link. The main reason I asked, is someone got a gp2x off of ebay that was bricked and they brought it back to life, but with the 2.0 firmware and then flashed it again and it's back to brick. I was wondering why anyone would ever flash a working unit that was just bricked and took days of reasearch to fix. I was just thinking what is so great about the 2.1 firmware that someone would risk their machine over. I will NEVER flash my unit, except maybe when open 2x comes out if it's MUCH superior to the normal firmware.

Chris