Whoa, If This Is Really Gamepark's Next Design...

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by RoboJoe32, Jul 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RoboJoe32

    RoboJoe32 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    815
    Tags:
  2. x68000

    x68000 Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,658
    Location:
    Co.Durham, UK
    there is a thread in the news forum with over 300 posts on it - go over there to find out more.
     
  3. aapje89

    aapje89 Still here...

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,753
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    are you serious LOL :lol:
     
  4. Steve-O

    Steve-O Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,054
    looks a little odd... personally I like the GP32 design :)... Maybe they could have just added a bigger screen, better hardware, extra buttons and a Analouge stick thing to the current GP32 design :D

    Also Looks strange having the volume where it is
     
  5. finty

    finty what is this

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,985
    Location:
    Ireland
    I'm PUMPED about this new console.
     
  6. moz

    moz load *,8,1

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,804
    why? theres bugger all that'll run on it part from audio and video
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  7. trooper

    trooper Trooper`s watching you !!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,503
    Location:
    The DarkSide (London)
    And emulators, Apparently. :rolleyes:

    Trooper
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  8. Robster

    Robster Dodgy hardware mod maker

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hmm... two processors... one dedicated to video...

    How about making Mesa3D run on the video processor, so that you effectively have a 3D accelerator? Quake 2 shouldn't be out of the question...

    That's one of the things I intend to look at, anyway. There's plenty to be excited about in this new console! :D
     
  9. TeDaDeS

    TeDaDeS Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I just like the design, if I could I would get one right now :p
     
  10. gp32animefreak

    gp32animefreak Mighty D Block

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    This looks even better than PSP by far
     
  11. crazeeplaya

    crazeeplaya That's the way I like it

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    Has anyone seen any specs on this one yet?

    I think I would need a 250MHz CPU and 32MB RAM minimum to get me back into the scene!
     
  12. TandeM

    TandeM Mega Pandora Mania?

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    You must be psychic - those just happen to be the specs (Gamepark is putting the "safe" MHz cap at 200MHz, though) - and it's got dual CPUs this time around.
     
  13. gp32animefreak

    gp32animefreak Mighty D Block

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    It has 2 arm9something cpus and 64mb of ram.
    Also a 2d an 3d graphics accelerater???
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  14. pea

    pea developer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Stop guessing people! So much crap floating around here you can't get the facts straight even if you were looking -

    Check it out yourself:
    http://www.gpx2.com/product/product_spec.asp

    32MB of ram
    ARM920T : Host processor
    ARM940T : Video Coprocessor

    so NO 3D accellerator, and the 2D acc. IS the second processor.
     
  15. Alpha2

    Alpha2 Heroic Autobot

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,821
    Location:
    New York
    Wow, it actually looks pretty darn cool. It's like the original GP's older, more mature brother with an expensive suit...

    Huh? they could make it BETTER? That seems improbable, if this IS the system it's already damn sweet! If it really can use all the stuff developed for the first system.... man it's very tempting to want to hop on a new system now.
     
  16. Squidge

    Squidge Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,495
    Location:
    UK
    It's been confirmed multiple times that this IS NOT backwards compatible. GP32 software WILL NOT work on the new console - it's completely different.
     
  17. DaveC

    DaveC Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,208

    No backwards compatibility. That is probably the biggest mistake with this system. So be prepared to wait a few years to get what we already have now ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  18. Alpha2

    Alpha2 Heroic Autobot

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,821
    Location:
    New York
    Ah sorry about that, my mistake, I've been away from the forums for a while so I had no idea it was already confirmed to not have it. Hell last time I remember hearing about a successor to the GP32 it didn't even have a concept sketch yet.
     
  19. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Please continue discussing in the other gpx2 thread.

    Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...