Who Actually Plans To Use The Second Cpu??

Captainbubby

Hi all,

I'm not a coder myself, trying to learn flash so when when Flash runs better under the 2x I can make some stuff for that.

Anyway, from my searching I've seen some stuff which is about a month + old, including Squidge benchmarking the 2nd CPU and finding that it performed at 190 % when compared to the original one CPU benchmark.

Now again, I could be totally wrong as I'm not a dev (much to my dismay) and don't have my finger on the pulse of SDK updates and what not.

Just curious, can the 2nd CPU currently be utalized? And do any devs plan on utalizing it when it becomes possible, from what I would gather it'd be a rather large pain in the arse, because utalizing it would require a total recode. (So I have read)

Hey that sounds cool; "Total Recode" like a geeky Shwarzenneger movie.

"Cohagen you've won, give these people SDK's"

I've got a simple test program running on it already, and sometime in the next week or two I hope to have part of the Jaguar emulator I'm porting moved into the second CPU.

I'm planning to do a simple little 3D shoot 'em up at some stage (my schedule's pretty full for the next few months, but I've got quite a lot of the engine prototyped and working under Linux + SDL already) and I'd thought to use the second CPU as a polygon renderer (though not under SDL).

So, is the 2nd CPU is accessable to coders with the current SDK and firmware release? I would see that that as essential for some of the more powerful emulators such as the PSX.

A Jaguar emulator sounds great, best of luck and hope it goes smoothly.

Craigx, I'm excited to see the results of these commercial projects as I'd love to see what the Gp2x is capable of (apart from emulation of course, I mean the sort of non-rom games that can be made). Despite there being no 3D hardware the Gp2x is a powerful machine when it's potential is tapped. :)