What Is The Diffrence Between The 1 And 2 Versions

hey i am new to this form and i was what is the diffrence between the 1 and 2 versions of the gp2x. is there any plans for a version 3??

There isn't any 1, 2 or 3 version of gp2x. There is the "first edition" but its only difference from actual one is that print on its case. Why it was in the first place then? I don't know for sure but probably to give something to early adopters to brag about. The second reason is an excuse for GameParkHoldings as the firmware at the start wasn't exactly bug free.

Hardware wise there weren't any changes. (at least not significant)

Perhaps in future GPH will do another revision but what it will be, when or how much it will cost is an unknow. (and I don't want go into speculations)

Last edited by a moderator:
No, no, no... surely our First Edition units are vastly superior to the later ones, I mean they have "First Edition" printed on them! What other evidence does one need? I NEED to believe I suffered through the first firmware version for a reason other than mere white letters printed on the front... don't take away our specialness!

its not strictly true that there aren't any differences between "first edition" and subsequent GP2X's ..

i've got one of the "First Edition" badged gp2x's, and a more recent one, and the newer one doesn't have the 'screen wobbles' that the first one has if you get a bit overzealous with the joystick .. also the screen quality seems to have improved a bit.

the wobble happened on the first edition gp2x's because the screen was too tightly bound to the PCB, and any slight curve your joystick move would make in the PCB would transfer to the LCD .. the same sort of effect you get if you poke an LCD with your finger ..