what about binned pandoras as next premium offer?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by mrclow, May 12, 2011.

  1. mhadf

    mhadf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Ouch.


    I have pushed it to just over 1000 at OPP5 without any probs, OPP3 has never worked beyond 720 for me though.
     
  2. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,745
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    But 720 is virtually the standard OPP3 clock-speed?
     
  3. neko

    neko I haz 300 posts

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    640
    So if mine crashes at 1Ghz, can I get an RMA?
     
  4. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,745
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    No, because all you have to do switch it back on and it'll be all good. When it crashes it won't break the Pandora.
     
  5. Eridger

    Eridger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Heh... The main site says the processor is capable of '600+' MHz. So officially they can only support 601MHz. :)
     
  6. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,745
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    In any case, between OPP3~OPP5, the Pandora won't die.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2011
  7. silver

    silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Mine tops out around 850-900Mhz at OPP5. Some apps run fine, but compiling will break it as will some emulation.


    Bit disappointing, but gets the job done. But I don't think suggesting 1Ghz at OPP5 is fine is good plan.
     
  8. Stephane Hockenhull

    Stephane Hockenhull Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    at OPP3~OPP5 ITS INDESTRUCTIBLE!! \m/ (O.O) \m/


    /me gets sledge hammer to test it out.
     
  9. DavidBowman

    DavidBowman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    I can get mine to just over 1ghz, but it's not always stable. I think the highest that I've had mine (at OPP 5) was 1050mhz. The desktop freezes immediately if I try to push it past that. I think 850mhz is my sweet spot on OPP3. I rarely overvolt as it doesn't make most things that I do any faster.


    PCSX-ReARMed doesn't like anything past ~800mhz now that notaz has implemented the NEON instruction set (not that it needs more speed than that).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2011
  10. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,745
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Thanks for that David, I might go with what you do, because at the moment I'm running my battery dry quicker than 10 hours.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2011
  11. Esn

    Esn (:";

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,239
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Um... at whatever voltage is the default, if I'm understanding this correctly.


    I remember back from the GP32 days that simple overclocking was considered safe, but changing the voltage was not, so I haven't tried changing the voltage.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 13, 2011
  12. craigix

    craigix Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11,010
    Location:
    England
    Oh the GP32 it did require you to open it up and manually solder in a new resistor though, we're not going that far!
     
  13. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,745
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    WTF? That's awfully high on OPP3? I only get 850 max on OPP3. :(


    What's your max on OPP5?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 13, 2011
  14. craigix

    craigix Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11,010
    Location:
    England
    They should all be able to do 720mhz at opp3.


    I thought they all did 800mhz, but it looks like the odd one can't.


    I've seen units reach 1ghz on OPP3, but really you would need opp5 in most cases.


    I think the beagleboard runs at opp5 now.
     
  15. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,745
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Lol, I want 1Ghz on OPP3!!! B)
     

Share This Page

Loading...