Release Visualboyadvance

Exophase said:
DaveC said:
I am no coder but I think integer scaling is pretty cheap as far as CPU. For every game pixel it just turns on 3 Pandora pixels. It is the fractional that probably takes more (looks ugly too) and filtering is the most CPU heavy obviously.

No it isn't that cheap, it's pretty bandwidth heavy, which can be devestating on Pandora. Not saying it'll kill everything but you even a really properly written scaler would probably take at least 1-2ms per frame. Also you meant 9 Pandora pixels, not 3.
OPT sayed, the LCD itself can do Hardware scaling and this don't cost CPU Speed. (At least for simple things like "full screen" etc.) I'm also no coder but I can imagine that the image itself leaves the OMAP 1:1 with small bandwich and only the LCD blows it up to Full Screen (with a fullscreen-flag or whatever).Shouldn't "cost" anything. ^^

Last edited by a moderator:
fusion_power said:
OPT sayed, the LCD itself can do Hardware scaling and this don't cost CPU Speed. (At least for simple things like "full screen" etc.) I'm also no coder but I can imagine that the image itself leaves the OMAP 1:1 with small bandwich and only the LCD blows it up to Full Screen (with a fullscreen-flag or whatever).Shouldn't "cost" anything. ^^

Yeah, OP has said this, but I haven't seen any actual information on how the LCD does this. I don't recall seeing such a feature in the datasheet. The OMAP3's DSS can scale, though. So can the SGX, if you have a fast way to update textures (see TI's texture stream extension I guess)

Exophase said:
fusion_power said:

Yeah, OP has said this, but I haven't seen any actual information on how the LCD does this. I don't recall seeing such a feature in the datasheet. The OMAP3's DSS can scale, though. So can the SGX, if you have a fast way to update textures (see TI's texture stream extension I guess)