using GP32 with no net 'access...

Discussion in 'I need help...' started by Rigor Mortis, Jan 25, 2004.

  1. Rigor Mortis

    Rigor Mortis Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Ok, here's the question. Can someone without personal internet access use a GP32? Can you register on one computer, then use a different computer from then on to transfer files, etc?
     
    Tags:
  2. Mark

    Mark Boris Johnson: Cuddly Conservative

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,806
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent UK
    You really need a PC to set it up (unless u just using commercial games) but from then on you can use any you wish, as long as it has the right drivers.
     
  3. extremegamer

    extremegamer Guest

    if you don't have internet then your pretty much screwed, you need to register your gp to download free launcher, but if you buy from GBAX, i believe a cd comes with some software to use, so that would help out a bit, but you'd really need internet to do much of anything.
     
  4. craigix

    craigix Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11,010
    Location:
    England
    Yeah our GP32's don't need net access, the CD contains everything you need and the are already set up to use, no registering required.

    -Craig

    www.gbax.com
     
  5. ColinR

    ColinR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Herts. UK
    The thing is, the majority of games for it are on the net. If you have net access say at work, but don't have a CD Burner there, you'll be pretty screwed for getting downloaded software onto it. The exception to this is for old system Roms. For example, the C64 disk images are only 180K per side of disk, so you can get a few onto a floppy. But the ADIC games (GP games written for the GP) usually weigh in at around a handful of megs.

    If you know how spanning floppy disks works in your favourite compression package (read Winzip for most people) you could get the software home that way.

    To get the GP32 set up so it can accept home-brew applications in the first place it does need to be hooked up to the net once.

    HTH
     
  6. Rigor Mortis

    Rigor Mortis Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    I have a 128MB USB pen drive, so downloading files is not a problem. I would just have to register it on a friends computer, but from then on use my own PC to transfer files.
     
  7. trooper

    trooper Trooper`s watching you !!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,503
    Location:
    The DarkSide (London)
    Sounds good to me.

    Trooper
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  8. Shaking Spirit

    Shaking Spirit ArchChancellor of UU

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    I remember when i'd download 20mb files at school and take them home in sackfuls of floppy disks :D
     
  9. pip

    pip Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    You don't have to register your gp32 for it to work. Mine isn't registered for instance. I just downloaded pc-link (0.5MB) and that was all I needed to get started. Registering is just useful if you plan to buy commercial games.
     

Share This Page

Loading...