Usb Mouse

chacali

Still Fresh
Hi everybody :lol:

I am a new comer. I am an engineer student in Belgium (---> sorry for my english).
I ve been asked to make an oscilloscope with the GP2X. The goal is to convert a digital voltage signal to numeric and send it by a usb connection to the GP2X and show it to the screen. I already made the circuit part using a microchip usb microcontroller.

Now i want to allow user using an usb mouse connected on the craddle to interract with the interface, to make it easy to use:

1. I first try to get it work using SDL, but it do not work. I read on this forum that the usb mouse wasn t already supported by SDL.

2. After that, i downloaded the source code of quake portage. I ve been searching trought the code for more than one week without understanding how the mouse was implemented.

3. Lastly, i thought it was possible to read the mouse input using on of the file in 'dev/' directory such as 'dev/mem' or '/dev/usb/mouse'. I just found to make the joystick work reading the file 'dev/joy0' but nothing for the mouse :(

4. Today, I found that Paeryn's HW SDL make it possible to use an usb mouse. I just downloaded the archive but I don t understand how to make it work. I m working on windows xp, with the GP2XSDK using DEV C++.

Could anyone tell me how to install it and also how to get the mouse work.
Thank you a lot (I hope everyone understood my [very] poor english :p )

Ishibashi said:
4. Today, I found that Paeryn's HW SDL make it possible to use an usb mouse. I just downloaded the archive but I don t understand how to make it work. I m working on windows xp, with the GP2XSDK using DEV C++.
As far as I know you can use a mouse with SDL, but not with the Gp2xSDK. It is not recommended for development since the SDL version is quite old and doesn't allow external libs (as you figured out)

Get the Open2x toolchain and link statically. You can use Python if your prefer. They both support mouse through SDL.