TV-Out

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
Got my ext connector yesterday from WizardStan and started soldering.


I have now a little prototypeboard, that supplies component video and monosound to my tv.


Picture is not the best, as I didn't have a 470 pF capacitor at hand and have used a slightly different one for s-video to composite conversion.


Will experiment with some values there.


Here are some pictures of the board and connector (that is all covered in hotglue to secure the solderingconnections a bit.


Don't tell me it is not pretty... I know myself ;)





Connector covered in hotglue





Board with simple s-video to composite conversion





The whole thing.
 

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
There is one thing I noticed though: All games, that use Notaz' improved SDL for scaling, including Picodrive and PCSX ReARMed don't work with the TV-Out.


Only black picture :(


Edit: Here is a picture with it in action:


 
Last edited by a moderator:

Blue Protoman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
4,119
Oh, that's a damned shame. Is notaz a big fan of anything, I need to commission a special bat signal.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,667
Does Picodrive and PCSXrearmed output directly to the frame-buffer? wonder if that could be the issue.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,667
Is this an issue we're going to have with the official TV-Out cables as well? :blink:


I was kinda counting on Sonic on the big screen... :(

Now that I think of it I do remember a video of Genesis/Megadrive with a TV out cable.. don't remember if that was an ED video or not. It was a while ago..
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
The video by ED was made before Notaz released his new sdl. It uses the sgx to scale, so it could be the reason.


You don't really need any schematic, as the ony additional component is the 470pF capacitor in the C-line. The rest you can see pretty good on my photos. For the pinout have a look at the wiki.
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
The video by ED was made before Notaz released his new sdl. It uses the sgx to scale, so it could be the reason.
No it doesn't, it uses the hardware scaler block in display subsystem instead.


For above to work separate framebuffer is used, and than has to be reflected in TV-out script too for TV-out to work. I'll have a look when I heave some time and my cables set up.
 

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
Ok, cool, if it is just a quick fix. Thanks for looking into it. I am not too good informed, how the new SDL works, so good you clarified.


Maybe something, that can still go into hf6?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
I shouldn't have updated too :(


Well, thats life. If notaz finds a way to make it work, I am all ok with this and can wait.
 

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
I don't have a HD-TVset. Just cannot afford it. Would you like to send me one. I promise I will test it then. ;)
 

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
Could test it on a Full HD beamer of my boss. I'll be there next week.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top