The Back Order Blues

Spellcheck

Still Fresh
Alright, here's the deal. I ordered a GP2x from gamersection.ca a week ago. A couple days ago I received an email saying it was backordered, I replied asking when they expect to get any in stock, and here is the reply.

Email from GamerSection.ca said:
Hello,

We are awaiting on an ETA from the manufacturer, they might be
discontinuing this model for the Gp2x Value Pack firm 3.0 instead. Would you
like to wait for this model or prefer to upgrade to the value pack instead?

GamerSection Gaming Accessories
http://www.GamerSection.ca

So, I have the option of waiting or getting firmware 3.0. Now, my question is is there anything I should be wary of if I chose firmware 3.0? Should I get new firmware or wait?

Last edited by a moderator:
Have I missed something? What's so bad about the 3.0 fw?

As a complete GP2X newb i downgraded the firmware within 20 mins of opening the box. its not a problem at all.

Spellcheck posted on Mar 15 2007 at 08:00 PM said:
Alright, here's the deal. I ordered a GP2x from gamersection.ca a week ago. A couple days ago I received an email saying it was backordered, I replied asking when they expect to get any in stock, and here is the reply.

Email from GamerSection.ca said:
Hello,

We are awaiting on an ETA from the manufacturer, they might be
discontinuing this model for the Gp2x Value Pack firm 3.0 instead. Would you
like to wait for this model or prefer to upgrade to the value pack instead?

GamerSection Gaming Accessories
http://www.GamerSection.ca

So, I have the option of waiting or getting firmware 3.0. Now, my question is is there anything I should be wary of if I chose firmware 3.0? Should I get new firmware or wait?

firmware 3.0.0 takes a bit longer to boot and has a prettier skin, I think that's about it. :p

oh, and it's not officially released yet :p

Some people have had problems with FW3 not being able to detect SD cards - but that could just people people who've upgraded to it.