Start Developing With Ms Visual Studio 2008

Atako

Still Fresh
Hey!

I would like to write programs for the Pandora in MS Visual Studio 2008.
Could you give me a tutorial on how to do that? All I know is that I would need to integrate a so called "Cross-Compiler" to Visual Studio because now I can't create an ARM compatible executable.
I'm a total newb to this and have only developed win32 applications before.

Thanks a lot!
Greets

Have a look at how to dev for the GP2X using the same dev environment, the pandora isn't much different (and you can actually use the same compiler if you wish)

For the simplest development environment, you can use the same as the GP2X, which means the same compiler.

Yes, the Pandora will run .gpe files. In fact, if you use the gp2x build environment then your programs will run under both the gp2x and Pandora (the exact same executable) without modification.

Obviously, if you use Gp2X specific things like the arm940, or depend on the 320x240 screen rather than asking the OS about the screen size then your bound to have problems when running your app on the Pandora, but since you are targetting the P anyway, you are unlikely to make those kind of mistakes.

You will however need a Pandora version of SDL, which isn't released yet. You can use the GP2X one for now (for testing on a GP2X) and just swap the library over and recompile for the Pandora.

Aren't there disadvantages on running a .gpe file on a Pandora?
For me it sounds like running a .gba file on a Nintendo DS console instead of a .nds file...
I don't really understand, what exactly does this .gpe file mean? Isn't there a standard executable file extension for linux?

I would like to have the environment dedicated to the Pandora only, gpx frightens me off somehow.

:wacko:

Squidge said:
For the simplest development environment, you can use the same as the GP2X, which means the same compiler.