Solar Panels

OMG this thread is old..... and stupid, too!

solar panels in a handheld :wacko: :wacko: :wacko: :wacko: this thing aint a calculator you know

Right, let's sort out this issue once and for all with some hard numbers (I'm an Energy Efficiency Assessor by trade so I've got this data in filing cabinets beside me).

Here's some assumptions I've made from the wiki or my own knowledge: The Pandora has a 4000mAH battery at 3.7V or 14.8 watt-hours, there's 116cm^2 of usable solar panel space (14cmx8.3cm; you can double that if you're putting panels on the back), the amount of sunlight being 1000W per m^2 for 6 hours (rough average for varying sunlight intensity/time between location, weather, time of year and rough bestcase stationary panel orientation). Battery charging is normally 90% efficient and battery discharging is normally 95% efficient, with small voltage converters being around 80% efficient.