Shell Caanoo To Boot To Mame4All Rom On Startup

Le Chuck

Still Fresh
Greetings, just got my Caanoo and I gotta say it's a fantastic little tool. I used to have a GP2X but never got as indepth into modding it as I should have. I'm an avid arcade builder over on the BYOAC forums and am planning to use the Caanoo in a mini dedicated Star Wars arcade build. The Caanoo really lends itself to this title with the analog control. A whole other issue is figuring out how I'm going to rewire and design a flight yoke interface to work with the analog stick but for now I need software help.

What I want to happen: When I turn on my Caanoo I want it boot directly to Star Wars, then if I exit it will back out either to the main menu or the Mame4all game selection menu.

How I understand this needs to be done: I need to write a command line script that boots starwars from mame4all so I can bypass the mame4all menus then stick that script in the games menu. Next I need to shell the Caanoo to boot that script from the game menu on startup.

So, is this feasible, am I on the right track, and can anybody help me along the path to getting this done either through some helpful links or even a walkthrough?

I really appreciate the help and look forward to working on this project. If everything goes to plan (it never does but usually turns out pretty well anyway) I'll post a link to the finished project. The GP Wiz is already being used in quite a few minis over on the BYOAC and this should be a nice departure from that. Thanks a lot!

If you download gmenu2x, there is an autorun.gpu inside the zip, which you might adapt to autostart mame4all. I'm not that familiar with command line/script commands, but I think you can modify the .ini file to autostart Star Wars with mame. Exiting a game takes you to the Mame4all game selection menu by default.
Might be getting hard to play, if you're planning to convert the sit-in arcade cabinet to a mini version. :)