Sd Formating

ish420

I'm a total noob when it comes to Linux and its file systems. I was just wondering which file system would be the best for Pandora and the SD cards, in terms of storage limits and access speeds. ei. ext2, ext3, jfs, etc.

well for compatibility, i'd suggest fat32, if you want to use it with windows as well
otherwise, ext3 is good, b/c no need to defrag it ever.

Karel Jansens said:
magicman5421 said:
well for compatibility, i'd suggest fat32, if you want to use it with windows as well
otherwise, ext3 is good, b/c no need to defrag it ever.
Doesn't the card's firmware have already anti-frag stuff built in?

I thought that was just bad sector blocking?

Last edited by a moderator:
Karel Jansens said:
Doesn't the card's firmware have already anti-frag stuff built in?
I'd hope not, because defragging flash memory is baaaaaaaaaaaddddd. Writing a lot on a card with finite writes is a no-no.

EXT2/3 will probably be the filesystems of choice, because they are more reliable than FAT32, allow permissions and symlinks, and have a very good windows-native driver

Fragmentation is a non-issue on flash media, because there is no penalty for seeks like a hard drive. Unless you are interested in keeping the data contiguous in case you have to do data recovery (which makes recovery more successful, usually).

Balzac2m said:
Why would you want to defrag flash memory?
I've actually done that before. to my psps mspd. I had no idea it was bad. I was thinking of defraging my ipod. is that ok?

There are no seek times on flash storage, so defrag is mostly useless

Although defragging is not really beneficial, it's not harmful either. Flash cards are meant to be re-written millions of times.

defragment is for harddrives. If it spins, defrag it. You can defrag flash memory but its useless. Won't harm though as anex said.

Balzac2m said:
defragment is for harddrives. If it spins, defrag it. You can defrag flash memory but its useless. Won't harm though as anex said.