Road Trip!


Claym99

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
234
Age
32
Location
Caldwell, Idaho
Website
www.myspace.com
Alright, so I'm going on a road trip right after schools out and there will be quite a few over-9-hour days. And I need to get some games for the trip. Help? I love RPG's but only certain ones. It cannot be 1st person. You can't believe how much that bug's me in an RPG. First-Person shooters are nice though. And uhm...that's it. :)
 

iignotus

The one and only
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
2,719
Website
gp2xdev.no-ip.org
There's plenty of great RPGs in the realm of the SNES. Chrono Trigger, Secret of Mana, Final Fantasy, etc.

Make sure you bring a bunch of extra batteries! :)
 

jdwrrzmm

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
70
Ultima 7
Any of the above mentioned SNES RPGs
Doom I and II
Duke Nukem 3D
Phantasy star
 

PSyMastR

\m/O__O\m/
Joined
Sep 14, 2005
Messages
2,968
Website
Visit site
Earthbound (Mother) series for NES/SNES.

Does anyone know why super mario rpg doesn't work on the snes emulator?
 

gaterooze

Coltrane Sundia
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
2,723
Website
Visit site
Gameboy has a ton of great RPGs -- Zelda series, Final Fantasy series, Pokemon series, Dragon Warrior series, Harvest Moon, Crystalis, and a bunch more I haven't played (including some neat newly-translated ones).
 

lintsniffer

Duke Nukem 3D = Crazy Delicious!
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
495
Age
32
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Website
Visit site
If I were you, I'd try to beat both Red and Blue version during the trip. I love those games.

ahh the memories of third grade... :)

PSyMastR posted on May 21 2006 at 07:42 PM said:
Earthbound (Mother) series for NES/SNES.

Does anyone know why super mario rpg doesn't work on the snes emulator?

I believe its some issue with Mode 7 (the pseudo 3D stuff for the SNES)

At least thats what I heard somewhere...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

daclassicgamingmaster

It Is Your Birthday.
Joined
Aug 31, 2005
Messages
8,168
Age
34
Location
ATL
Website
krispf3.blogspot.com
PSyMastR posted on May 21 2006 at 08:42 PM said:
Earthbound (Mother) series for NES/SNES.

Does anyone know why super mario rpg doesn't work on the snes emulator?
I recall someone saying it's like the only game that wont run at all on any emu or something, which makes sense, as I have tried it as well around 4 times to no avail :(

hey but I own it afterall so no loss :p
 
Last edited by a moderator:

daclassicgamingmaster

It Is Your Birthday.
Joined
Aug 31, 2005
Messages
8,168
Age
34
Location
ATL
Website
krispf3.blogspot.com
lintsniffer posted on May 21 2006 at 08:49 PM said:
actually daclassicgamingmaster,
I've run it on PC snes emulators (snes9x)

I believe the GP2X just can't support the Mode 7/system intensity.
ya thats what I meant. Ive tried it on the gp2x and nothing works.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

iignotus

The one and only
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
2,719
Website
gp2xdev.no-ip.org
daclassicgamingmaster posted on May 21 2006 at 08:47 PM said:
PSyMastR posted on May 21 2006 at 08:42 PM said:
Earthbound (Mother) series for NES/SNES.

Does anyone know why super mario rpg doesn't work on the snes emulator?
I recall someone saying it's like the only game that wont run at all on any emu or something, which makes sense, as I have tried it as well around 4 times to no avail :(

hey but I own it afterall so no loss :p
It worked on NightKnight's SNES emu, and it works fine on my computer.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

iignotus

The one and only
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
2,719
Website
gp2xdev.no-ip.org
lintsniffer posted on May 21 2006 at 08:53 PM said:
iignotus posted on May 21 2006 at 07:52 PM said:
It worked on NightKnight's SNES emu.
Is that for 2X?
Yeah, but everyone says it doesn't work on newer firmwares. I'm about to test that myself. Regardless, it only ran at about 4fps, so....
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,888
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
Super Mario RPG has an extra chip, similar to Yoshi's Island.
Without emulating this chip, it won't work ;)

NK's emu was based on snes9x, so this chip is being emulated.
squidgesnes is based on yoyofr's OpenSNES9x which is pretty optimized for the GP32 and therefore has that chip disabled ;)
 

Claym99

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
234
Age
32
Location
Caldwell, Idaho
Website
www.myspace.com
Ah...Super Mario RPG...it's a beautiful thing. I thought the problem was with the CPU core emulation? On my Zodiac i just change the core from ASM to C and it works...oh and you have to have audio enabled until your actually in the game...
 
Top