Software Reboot command


Drumaster78

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
38
Age
40
Hello everyone,

I'm trying to get a command (or an executable) that would allow me to reboot the Wiz. Is it possible?

I found a way to shut it down on openhandhelds.org but can't find a way to reboot it and 'sbin/reboot' does not work on Wiz, it only leads to a black screen (like only the UI is shut down).

Thanks for your help.
 

Drumaster78

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
38
Age
40
? (please don't tell me to use the side button of Wiz... which is not a reboot but turn off/on button by the way).

I'm interested here in doing it by software only (just in case that would not be clear :)).
 
Last edited:

canseco

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
885
Location
Spain
I recently did this for Albert launcher reboot option, "shutdown -r now"
 

Drumaster78

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
38
Age
40
Thanks but when I try to put that in a script, it leads to a black screen without rebooting nor shutting down.

Here an example of what I tried:


#!/bin/sh

/sbin/shutdown -r now


What am I doing wrong?

I would need either a compiled prpgram (already compiled, I have not the environment to do that) or either the command to put in a gpe script.

Thanks.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12,297
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
The -r flag in the shutdown command is intended to make the device reboot. Use -h instead, which stands for halt.

On pre-system-d systems I've used, invoking shutdown without the -h flag does indeed lead to a state where the machine is stopped but not turned off. That flag has fixed that for me in the past.

Edit: My apologies, I'd forgotten even the title of this thread - you're trying to make it reboot! Still, I see it didn't work, which is a shame :(
 
Last edited:

Drumaster78

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
38
Age
40
I tried -h and -r and it does not work, even under a terminal and gpe script. This Linux distribution does not seem to react to those commands.

If anyone has a solution... would be appreciated.
 

hmn

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
221
There is no "/sbin/shutdown" on the Wiz, only "/sbin/reboot" (which is what Willhelm might have meant).
 

Drumaster78

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
38
Age
40
Yes, I saw that but calling /sbin/reboot just leads to a black screen and nothing happens. Seems like GPH blocked those command.
 

hmn

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
221
Confirmed, /sbin/reboot etc. don't seem to do anything. They probably didn't so much block them, but rather did not implement the required functionality proper. One could investigate how they implemented the power button (which performs a shutdown).
 

Drumaster78

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
38
Age
40
FYI, chrisvcpp successfully implemented a software shutdown button in his Win2X firmware. When decompiling his Win2X, I cannot find any internal shell command for that action (other shell commands as rm, cp... can be easily found) as it seems to be some compiled code, a kind of hack I guess.

The source of this command can be found here (don't know if it's from chrisvcpp though):
http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/wiz.cgi?0,0,0,0,46,416

But once again, it's about shutdown, not reboot. :(
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12,297
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
In most linuxes, /sbin/reboot is a symlink to whatever tool does the normal power control stuff. So it's likely it's that that's broken, as you've already proven, shutdown -r doesn't reboot.

Although if it's doing nothing at all, then the linkage between reboot and shutdown -r seems broken also.
 

hmn

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
221
This is interesting - the tool invokes ioctl 2 on /dev/GPIO, which modifies a pin on the SOC (GPA18, signalling a power control chip?). The power button meanwhile has it's own driver, which runs "/etc/hotplug.d/default/default.hotplug power_off" in userland when it is triggered.
 
Top