Question About Vektar's Code

blakespot

Still Fresh
I'm quite intrigued w/ the GP2X. I've spent much of my free time over the last week filling my new unit. Good stuff.

I quite enjoy Vektar, the game. I am a developer and had some questions. I think DZZ reads these forums.

- Does the backscroller or other part of the game use the GP2X's blitter, or is it software blits?
- Does the GP2X have sprite support, or is that software?
- How hard, with the avail dev kit, would it be to write a Hello World app (I assume I can use C) and just fill the screen with a solid color. Would that be a long app as far as lines of code?
- Is the blitter well documented? On the web somewhere?

Thanks!

blakespot

Dev corner ... that way ==>

We mere mortals can't answer those questions here.

blakespot posted on Jul 27 2006 at 06:57 AM said:
I'm quite intrigued w/ the GP2X. I've spent much of my free time over the last week filling my new unit. Good stuff.

I quite enjoy Vektar, the game. I am a developer and had some questions. I think DZZ reads these forums.

- Does the backscroller or other part of the game use the GP2X's blitter, or is it software blits?
- How hard, with the avail dev kit, would it be to write a Hello World app (I assume I can use C) and just fill the screen with a solid color. Would that be a long app as far as lines of code?

Thanks!

blakespot
I cant answer the first question but the reminder I give my best shot.

2) If you are talking about something similar to the GBA OAM, then no.
3) Really easy (there are several devkits so the difficulty in setting one up may vary)
4) I only use SDL which uses the blitter but nubie has links to the hardware documentation of the GP2X in his signature.

Last edited by a moderator:
blakespot posted on Jul 27 2006 at 11:57 AM said:
I quite enjoy Vektar, the game.
Thank you!
I am a developer and had some questions. I think DZZ reads these forums.
Rather too much I'm afraid.