Pygame: Please why is my Background so small

SnakesBite

Still Fresh
Hi, I am new to pygame and trying to start off simple. The background image only covers a very small amount of the screen at the top left. In other small programs it has covered the whole screen. Can anyone help to see the problem in my code affecting my background please.

import pygame, sys, random

from pygame.locals import *

pygame.init()

FPS = 30

fpsClock = pygame.time.Clock()

gameSurface = pygame.display.set_mode((640, 480))

pygame.display.set_caption('beginner')

bgImg = pygame.image.load("space_invaders\space_image.png").convert()

shipImg = pygame.image.load('ship.bmp').convert()

position = shipImg.get_rect().move(random.randrange(640), 479)

while True:

gameSurface.blit(bgImg, (0,0))

for event in pygame.event.get():

if event.type == QUIT:

pygame.quit()

sys.exit()

if event.type == KEYDOWN:

# keyboard inputs

if event.key == K_LEFT:

position = position.move(-1, 0)

if event.key == K_RIGHT:

position = position.move(1, 0)

gameSurface.blit(shipImg, position)

pygame.display.update()

fpsClock.tick(FPS)

Last edited by a moderator:
Assuming you're on a Pandora / using Linux, you want space_invaders/space_image.png, not space_invaders\space_image.png.

But if that's the case, I'm surprised it doesn't just exit with the error that it can't find it.

im on windows vista. ive tried making the path both '\' and '/'. but get the same results.

Oh. It may be that your error is specific to Window's implementation of pygame/sdl (I don't have Windows, so I can't test).

Maybe try doing "pygame.display.update()" after "gameSurface.blit(bgImg, (0,0))"

im on windows vista. ive tried making the path both '\' and '/'. but get the same results.