Pocket Projector

In the case of the microvision projector, I doubt anyone would be game to mess with that. There is a slideshow here : http://www.microvision.com/pico_projector_...howitworks.html

It sounds pretty simple in theory right? But don't forget, it's freaking tiny and it would take some precision engineering for it to be accurate and reliable. Plus, everything is based around the MEMS technology for the projected image. It all looks extremely precise and sorta delicate.

I'm not good at electronics, but even if I was great with electronics, I would be reluctant to take that thing apart :lol:

Anyway, can anyone tell me if the lumens thing applies to laser light the same way it applies to led or bulbs?

EDIT: Spelling and sentence structure.

sold said:
Anyway, can anyone tell me if the lumens thing applies to laser light the same way it applies to led or bulbs?

Problem is, it's no constant lightsource like on a normal projector, because it works with scanlines. Each pixel is projected one time per complete frame. You could calculate the brightness if you know the brightness of the laser in a certain distance and the time it takes to complete a frame.

Last edited by a moderator:
enigmacipher said:
honestly....
for a forum full of hackers, I am very surprised no one even suggested a mod to an existing one. 10 lumens isn't much, but 100 is plenty for a 20 inch screen.... consider modding the light source. Luxeon LEDs will put out 100+ lumens and a battery, LED driver, and LED can be bought and assembled for less than $30. A cell phone battery from DX would probably last you an hour or so. Mod in a heatsink and fan, and you have yourself a slightly larger but way brighter projector. I am not saying I would or could do it, but it can't be that hard, can it?
I don´t find it surprising at all, seeing as your idea is completely unfeasible.
Picoprojectors aren´t LCD or DLP projectors. Read the thread again.

OrR said: