Opengl -> Opengl Es Wrapper Library

I am considering taking this up...trouble is, as I said, I've got no GL experience at all, although from what I've seen it's not THAT complex.

As I said before I think the important thing is that the Pandora has lots of native playable games in a few months, not lots of half finished new homebrew games (though I'm really looking forward to seeing what homebrew does come from Pandora :D ).

There are lots of very high quality open source games around; games like planeshift, lincity-ng, glest, nexuiz, tremulous, spring, supertuxkart, UFOAI, Warzone 2100, Vega Strike, Wormux, Torcs, Sauerbraten, Neverball (would be really nice with an accelerometer), GUSANOS (liero clone), Globulation2....the list goes on...

(I realise not all of those are OGL)

If a list of titles like that was available for the second batch, it's end of problem in terms of people not adopting Pandora because it has amazing hardware but doesn't have the games...and that is what worries me most in terms of making this a real success.

The question is, is this the solution or would efforts be better placed porting each game individually?

Laurent said:
Creature XL said:
Correct. That is why OpenGL 3.0 got rid of the old stuff aswell. :)

My understanding is that that "old stuff" is only deprecated in 3.0. Did I get it wrong?
Sorry, I overread it! You are right. However, it will be removed in the next version (that si th eidea behind depricated anyways :))

So sorry again. i will edit my previous post.

Last edited by a moderator:
Creature XL said:
So sorry again. i will edit my previous post.

Heh no problem :) It looks like that removal generated a lot of discussion in the OpenGL comity and in the community :lol:

darkblu said:
* and yet, even an exemplary lean-n-mean gl app may face serious obstacles - all it takes is for it to be mixed fixed-pipe/shaders-pipe and voila - you'll need considerable rewrite just to get that app up on any es2 platform.