Mame4all 1.3, 4.1.0 Firmware, Clrmamepro -> Still Black Screens

minizoot

Still Fresh
Hello.

I'm a newbie and I have some difficulties. I've just bought a GP2X-F200(B). It was delivered with Firmware 4.0.2. I've installed Mame4all 1.3, some ROMs and all I got was black screens when I started the emu. Reading things here and there I learned that many apps didn't work with 4.0.2 firmware and I flashed firmware 4.1.0 (first and second release). Black screen again when I loaded the ROMs (Battlezone, Bombjack, Bionic Commando). Then I converted the ROMs with ClrMamePro to make sure they were readable. Black screens again. A weird thing though: I start a freshly copied Mame4all, choose the ROM, black screen, off/on the GP2X, start Mame4all and I end up directly with a black screen !
Vice2X crashes, Duke3D (even though there's a mouse pointer as a beacon in the darkness...) and... oh my god Frodo2x works ?!?!
Am I missing something ? Any help would be appreciated. Plplplplplease.

Laurent

Hi all !
I'm a newbie too, and pretty happy to have received a new gp2x F-200 today.
I've got exactly the same problem, so I wonder why Mame4all simply don't work at all.
Firmware 4.0.2 pre-installed, I tried to run Mame4all and got nothing (not even the interface) <_<
Is there anyone here to help us to make this "must have" running fine ?

thanx

blk.

I got a GP2x with firmware 4.0.2 and was having the same problems you guys describe: black screen immediately when starting MAME4All, MAMEGP2x, Vice, Payback (demo and retail), and some others.. (and yes, Frodo worked for me too on 4.0.2)

After updating to the 4.1.0 firmware those problems went away. (Make sure the firmware update has taken .. 4.1.0 shown on booting, different background in the menus, english touch-screen calibration.) You held down select+home when booting for the ROM update?