Jobs In The Gaming Industry

R

Reesy

I'm currently a database programmer. I have had enough of my current job and I'm looking for a new one but I thought I may as well consider moves to other areas of computing programming while I'm at it. I would love to get into the game industry, but I have no idea how I would go about this.

I was wondering if any of the more experienced programmers that visit the board would share their experiences and insights on the gaming industry. It would be interesting to hear from someone thats been there and done it all before.

Thanks

Reesy

Best thing to do is to use Reed's job site. All the best postings are on there. Its @ Reed

Also, CWJobs and New Media Jobs are worth a look at.

I recently saw one of the big Brit developers were on a recruitment drive (it might have been Codemasters, but I can't quite remember).

I'm currently involved with SAP at BP and it too is starting to annoy me massively.

On the other side, you can stick with DB programming, and get job postings anywhere in the world - its a skill that is highly sought after.

I'm currently a database programmer. I have had enough of my current job and I'm looking for a new one but I thought I may as well consider moves to other areas of computing programming while I'm at it. I would love to get into the game industry, but I have no idea how I would go about this.

I was wondering if any of the more experienced programmers that visit the board would share their experiences and insights on the gaming industry. It would be interesting to hear from someone thats been there and done it all before.

Thanks

Reesy
If your in the UK the back of Edge magazine has industry places in.

Last edited by a moderator:
Or try putting up your resume on Gamasutra, or if you'd want you can reply to the job offers on the site or in the newsletter directly. Quite a lot of good articles/biographies about the whole game industry on it too. Very good site.

ching ching SAP=bling