Is This A Good Deal? Good Cheap Laptop.

aaron11193

Hey Telstra, I Hate You.
Website
www.geocities.com
Hey guys,

I have just discovered the DreamBook Lite IL1 on www.pioneercomputers.com.au, they custom build computers pretty cheap.

I was just wondering if you guys think this is a good deal.

$529 (inc. GST) for:

VIA C7M 1.2Ghz processor

8.9" WSVGA 1024x600 LCD

Integrated VIA Graphics

1GB 667MHz DDR2 RAM

40GB Ultra-ATA (60GB for a little more $$$)

802.11B/G Wireless

No Optical Drive

Ubuntu preloaded (I plan to dual boot XP and Xubuntu)

1 Year Warranty

Notebook Carry Bag

Aaron.

EDIT: Price in $AUD, I'd rather not order from overseas.

Hmm... although I am not a market expert, I wouldn't buy this one. 1.2Ghz is a joke. I bought my laptop almost 5 years ago and it came with 1.8Ghz while not being all too expensive (about 900 euros). Also the graphics card really sucks ass and I wouldn't be surprised if it caused a lot of trouble when you are trying to get decent hardware acceleration to run under linux. If you don't need that and you are fine with the horsepower go for it, but if I were you I'd keep looking or buy a second hand machine with better specs. Just my 2 cents.

EDIT: No optical drive aswell? Hmm... I dunno, doesn't seem like a good deal to me.

EDIT2: Seeing that it is sort of an eepc concept design and the 8h of battery life it has, makes me think this is not such a bad deal. Still... I would rather go for a full fledged laptop.

xnopasaranx said: