GP32 How Atari Vector Graphic Games Were Added To Mame.

thegrimreaper

Certified Guru
Website
Visit site
To help Franxis get some more developers helping him, I’m creating a guide on how Atari Vector Graphic games were added to his 1.2.2 source code. Hopefully some developers will see this and be inspired to help increase the list of games supported by Mame.

Firstly I’d like to point out that I’m a hopelessly bad C developer. I mostly work with C# and sometimes MFC, so writing C is a bit like going back to the dark ages for me.

After getting the development environment setup (many thanks to Oankali’s guide, without which Star Wars etc. still wouldn’t be available in Mame). I downloaded the MSDOS 0.34 Mame source code from the official site http://www.mame.net/zips/mame034s.zip and started to compare the differences from Franxis’ source code. After poking around a bit this is what I did:

Find the sections referring to “starwars” in the MSDOS 0.34 makefile and copy into makefile_atari, copying across the file referred to in the makefile.

Compiling at this point gives you loads of errors, carefully go through these and correct them. Once you've got it compiling, almost everything is done. I've just done this on 1.2.2. source and this is most of what I did:

1. Find all calls to errorlog() and remove that code
2. Find all C++ style // comments and replace them with C style /* … */ style comments
3. Add missing files and makefile references for vidhrdw\vector.o. Perform steps 1 & 2 on the new files.
4. Remove calls to osd_mark_dirty and osd_mark_vector_dirty. Not required.
5. Remove Artwork Functions from bottom of vector.c/h and removed include “artwork.h”. This helps to save memory.
6. Add a GP32 version of osinline.h to src\gp32, helped by a very quick reply from LDChen http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?showtopic=19560