Getting music for PrBoom

FaeMinx

Rainbow Liberation Instigation
As a Linux noob I'm not really sure how to enable music in PrBoom.

Do I really have to download a 14mb file: timidity.tar.gz from http://www.libsdl.org/projects/SDL_mixer/

"The SDL_mixer library used by PrBoom supports software MIDI music synthesis. If you want to hear the Doom music, you need a set of Timidity instrument patches. Get the timidity.tar.gz from the bottom of the SDL_mixer page, and extract in /usr/local/lib. You may need to symlink /usr/local/lib/timidity/timidity.cfg to /etc/timidity — see the console output from PrBoom to see where it is looking for this file."

I don't even know what 'symlink' means :rolleyes:

As a Linux noob I'm not really sure how to enable music in PrBoom.

Do I really have to download a 14mb file: timidity.tar.gz from http://www.libsdl.org/projects/SDL_mixer/

"The SDL_mixer library used by PrBoom supports software MIDI music synthesis. If you want to hear the Doom music, you need a set of Timidity instrument patches. Get the timidity.tar.gz from the bottom of the SDL_mixer page, and extract in /usr/local/lib. You may need to symlink /usr/local/lib/timidity/timidity.cfg to /etc/timidity — see the console output from PrBoom to see where it is looking for this file."

I don't even know what 'symlink' means :rolleyes:
Well, there's a Timidity installer PND, does that work?

Last edited by a moderator:
Yes the timidity installer PND is a god send. Doing things manually was a chore before (I got Doom and Descent working fine but the King and ROTT flatly refused to use the same set) and I do think there's a marked improvement to the sound quality using the large file set installed to SD. Though others found some slowdown was caused by that.