General Problem With Oopo Toolchain (newbie Coder)

Tomcat

Still Fresh
I'm pretty new to C and GP2X coding, but I already managed to compile and run some stuff some weeks ago.

Now, some things in GP2X development have changed, so I set up a new toolchain, the one from ooPo (wasn't available when I first tried developing in December). It works quite well, only I don't get how I should work with the libraries...

paeryn's hw-sdls are not installed on my GP2X, so after using those for my sample program I understood that I have to copy them over to my SD card and use LD_LIBRARY_PATH to use them. So far so good.

Now my sample program crashed with "libc.so.6: version 'GLIBC_2.3' not found, required by ./lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0". Checked /lib and /usr/lib on my GP2X, seems like paeryn's libSDL needs the libc 2.3.5 that comes with ooPo's toolchain, not the 2.2.something I got on my GP2X... but I don't believe you guys copy over all of the libs to your SD card just to run your own compiled stuff?

After some more tries of doing exactly that, I gave up because I'm always missing some lib or have the wrong version. I think I'm doing something fundamentally wrong... are the libs on my GP2X outdated (all firmware upgrades went through perfectly, so I doubt that)? Should I have installed the ones that come with the toolchain installer? Am I missing something in compiling or linking (I read up on statically linking because I don't do this currently, but the little software engineering I know tells me it shouldn't matter)...

Help is greatly appreciated. If I should've read some FAQ or manual or something, don't hesitate to tell me... something's quite wrong here. Thanks! :)

luteijn posted on Mar 5 2006 at 02:39 PM said:
-static