First Steps

delramos

Still Fresh
OK, so we've established I'm a noob and I know some of you dudes hate us so...if really dumb simple questions upset you, go read another post.

I got the GP2x, I got the memory card, NOW WHAT THE HELL DO I DO?

I really want to run some emulators on this thing.

In an ideal world, I would like to be playing Elite on a BBC Micro emulator.

I found a BBC emulator, but being thick as whatever, I have no idea how to get it on the console, how to open it, how to make do anything.

SOrry. If someone could talk me through this one thing, I will be sorted (for the moment)

I tried going here http://archive.gp2x.de/cgi-bin/cfiles.cgi?0,0,0,0,23,933 but couldnt open the pdf.

Yes, I am that dumb.

A patient, gentle person to help would be gratefully appreciated and you will be rewarded in heaven.

Del
x

Don't want to ruin your day here, but Elite will be very difficult to play on a GP2X.

In order to have keyboard input on an emulator, you have to press a key to bring up a keyboard menu (which will cover a portion of the screen), then use the joystick to navigate the keyboard and press a key and then flick back to the game!

As I recall, Elite has a LOT of keyboard controls and it might be tricky to gleen any real enjoyment whilst constantly flicking from the game to the keyboard input :( That said, the BBC emulator (which I'm not familiar with, BTW) may have key mapping capabilities, so you *may* be able to map the more common keys to the GP2X buttons - pass.

Start by downloading the BBC emulator and there should be a text file in the archive which will tell you how and where to install it to your GP2X. Info can usually be found at the developlers website too.

Come back if you get stuck :)

I got the GP2x, I got the memory card, NOW WHAT THE HELL DO I DO?I really want to run some emulators on this thing. In an ideal world, I would like to be playing Elite on a BBC Micro emulator.