Designing The Gp2x's Successor - Hardware Selection Poll

Select one:

• Option 1: ARM926EJ-S 266 MHz Processor, Floating Point/Vector Coprocessor, 2D/3D Accelerator

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Option 2: ARM920T 400 MHz Processor, No FPU/Vector Unit or Graphics Accelerators

• Option 3: These are both inadequate (post alternative)

• Total voters

pupnik said:
Epicenter said:
Probably a lot more than the ARM11.. :) I don't really see a reason for hardware much more powerful than an ARM9 around 300 Mhz for gaming applications, though.
Good ... grief...

The ARM926Ej-S is what i've been porting games to for 6 months now and it's old news. The linux pda it's in (Nokia 770 has been out for years and it's about as fast as the gp2x overall.

You can pick one up for $140 now. Problem is no right hand side buttons and a sucky directional pad for gaming.

This is at 250mhz in the OMAP1710 SOC -- /proc/cpuinfo says 125 bogomips. The successor Nokia 800 which is nearing a year in age has the OMAP2420 yielding about 300 bogomips.

Neither of these has the power to run a straight port of snes9x, or even fceu. And you're takling about the lower-power one as a successor to the gp2x. Bwaahaha.

Emulation is the bread and butter of Gamepark Holdings. Not homebrew 3d, not commercial games. If they bring out a barebones device with an ARM A8 cortex, they can deliver a new class of emulation. If they try to go for a do-everything device, they'll probably get trounced by the successor to the Nokia 880.

The post you quoted was over 9 months old, And as everyone knows, Technology stands still for no one.

Trooper

Last edited by a moderator:
Who is this Pupnik guy? All he does is dig up almost 1 year old threads and then talk about old cell phones that no one cares about. Really irritating :angry:

LOL. Saved me the time of finding this post to put in that other post about a gpx3. I was trying to remember how many other times this topic has been started.

LegendaryMachine said: