? Compiling With Gcc 4.x

MSweeney

Still Fresh
Website
Visit site
Hello, might need to be moved to 'I need help', but I thought it was maybe a general question so could also live here. Mods please move as see fit.

Basically, I am looking for info concerning Compiling for FW 2.0 on GCC 4.x. As I have mentioned before, I am not very experienced with the Linux development tools so these questions may have simple answers that seem obvious to some ;)

1. If I compile using GCC 4.x, how does this impact the C/C++ libraries (assuming I use any). For example, I assume I can statically link the libs in - so that may not be a problem... but what about calling into Firmware, or other system calls. I imagine that straight ASM Software Int calls should be no problem so long as the correct registers are set.

2. If I do want to use dynamic libs, can I include those with my 'exe' and then how do I make sure it uses those and not any others that may be present in the system. Please be aware I am familiar with windows and DLL's so it may be totally different than I think in actuality - but I assume at least the concept of dynamic/static libs is the same regardless of how they are loaded.

3. I am developing on Windows, and currently using the windows compiled versions of arm-linux-gcc etc. I didn't even check the versions, but I grabbed the distro from here and I'm pretty sure it does NOT use GCC 4.x. So, I want to make Windows versions of those executables, is that a fairly simple process? For example, can I actually compile the GCC 4.x toolchain using the Windows versions of an older GCC toolchain? (if you follow my reasoning). I do have a Linux box, and a Linux Virtual Server, so I suppose I could cross-compile to Windows if need be. Obviously I would prefer to just download them =)