GP32 Compiler / C optimization question..

RobertG

The 6809 CPU core from the Vectrex emulator I'm porting has some code that I think may be slowing it down, something like:-

switch(number)
{
case 0: case1: case 2: case 3: case 4:
case 5: case6: case 7: case 8: case 9:
case 10: case11: case 12: case 13: case 14:
case 15: case16: case 17: case 18: case 19:
case 20: case21: case 22: case 23: case 24:
case 25: case26: case 27: case 28: case 29:

/*do some stuff */
break;

case 30: case 31: case 32....

/*and so on*/

}

I'm wondering how the compiler will handle this switch statement.. I'm a lousy asm programmer, so bare with me, but I'm guessing that a switch statement is normally compiled into something a little like this:-

--*pseudo assembly*--
mov r0, number
mov r1, switchstatement
mov r2, [r0 + r1]

switchstatement:
@dcd 1,2,3,4,5,6

1:
;code here

2:
;code here

..etc

Which is fine and dandy. As far as I can tell the switch statement from the Vectrex emulator can be assembled to one of two things:-

1) it can be expanded out, eg:-

case 1: case 2: case 3:
/* code here */
break;

becomes:-

1:
;code here

2:
;code here (same code as 1)

3:
;code here (same code as 1 and 2)

Which will result in a massive jump table, and so a bigger binary, but the performance will be alright (right?).

2) something like:-

mov r0, number
cmp r0, $1
beq 1

cmp r0, $2
beq 1

cmp r0, $3
beq 1

1:
;code here

...Which would be a performance nightmare!

So any ideas on how the compiler would handle this, whether it's worth changing, etc? :)

Thanks

Robert

Generally a good compiler makes good code out of that.. basically cases till the first break are handled as one code and one compare.. possible holes may require few additional compares. Switches generate usually a mixture of few compares and jump tables. A long run of compares also may use binary search instead of linear compare code.