Basic Sdl Help Needed

Awakening

Website
www.digitalawakening.se
I am new to C++ and SDL, have read through most of Lazy Foo's tutorials. I'm coding a little puzzle game for Pandora as a learning project (I have quite some programming experience). I've run into a problem pretty early but perhaps someone here can help me out.

I have 3 surfaces: image, mask and composed

image and mask are loaded from existing images and I have no problem blitting them to the screen with full transparency. I can also blit the mask on top of the image and blit the result to the screen, no problems there.

You might have guessed what my problem is by now. I want to blit the image and mask surfaces to the composed surface but I apparently need to do something to the composed surface to make this work. My guess is that it got something to do with the clipping rectangle of the surface but so far I got no luck setting it. Or am I missing something else?

This might not be important knowledge at this point but I figure it would be a good thing to know.

Please help me :)

SDL_SetClipRect

Also, make sure that the Compose surface does not have an alpha channel, or if it does make sure that the entire surface's alpha channel is SDL_ALPHA_OPAQUE ( 255 ). SDL does not do alpha blending in the way you would expect. SDL uses the destination surface's alpha, and discards the source surface alpha. There are software ways to get alpha blending, but they are very slow.

I've tried using that, but maybe I'm doing something wrong.

I got this at the top of my code:
SDL_Surface *frontPanel = NULL;

Then inside one of my functions I got this:
SDL_Rect panel;
panel.x = SCREEN_WIDTH;
panel.y = SCREEN_HEIGHT;
SDL_SetClipRect(frontPanel, &panel);

And finally in my main function I got this:
apply_surface( 0, 0, frontImage, frontPanel);
apply_surface( 0, 0, frontMask, frontPanel);
apply_surface( 0, 0, frontPanel, screen);

Deleting NULL didn't do it but the create function did it.