GP2X Arm And Thumb. Which To Use?

slygamer

Website
Visit site
Firstly, I have never written anything for an ARM processor before, so this is all new to me. I've done some research on ARM and have read up on the THUMB instructions. The two processors in the GP2x support THUMB (based on the 'T' designation in their names). THUMB instructions are useful for fitting more code into smaller amounts of memory, but are they slower than ARM instructions? The doco I have read states that the 16-bit THUMB instructions are expanded into the 32-bit ARM instructions in the processor, but does that one THUMB instruction execute in the same time as if we executed the same expanded ARM instructions explicitly?

What were the experiences on the GP32 in this regard?

Is there is some more detailed doco on the ARM processors from a coders perspective? Or do I read through that 'unofficial' doco that was accidentally released last week?

slygamer posted on Sep 27 2005 at 03:25 AM said:
Firstly, I have never written anything for an ARM processor before, so this is all new to me. I've done some research on ARM and have read up on the THUMB instructions. The two processors in the GP2x support THUMB (based on the 'T' designation in their names). THUMB instructions are useful for fitting more code into smaller amounts of memory, but are they slower than ARM instructions? The doco I have read states that the 16-bit THUMB instructions are expanded into the 32-bit ARM instructions in the processor, but does that one THUMB instruction execute in the same time as if we executed the same expanded ARM instructions explicitly?

What were the experiences on the GP32 in this regard?

Is there is some more detailed doco on the ARM processors from a coders perspective? Or do I read through that 'unofficial' doco that was accidentally released last week?