Are Pandora Components Available?

chame

Today I broke my pandora audio chip. I think it is the DA converter, or maybe the amp. Send the pandora to repair will have 2xshipping cost, plus the repair itself. I have some experience with solder, and if I could get the correct parts...

So I would like to know if the pandora parts are available. there are many other parts that break and could be great to have: L-R buttons, D-Pad stick (mine lost the paint already), LCD, etc...

(fried circuit on the right and left of audio jack)

How did you manage to fry it like that? I guess at least it's obvious which part bit the dust!

There has always been talk of spare parts being made available eventually, but I'm not sure it goes down to this sort of level. You could try contacting your distributor - you might just get lucky. Otherwise, maybe you can at least get the part number from them, or from one of the photos floating around. I doubt it's anything exotic but the trick is of course finding a supplier who'll sell it to you in low quantities.

I connected it to my car audio. I was working great, listening some nice genesis tunes, and then some kind of overvoltage :(

I fell really stupid, at least the unit works well, except the audio...

I already emailed pandoraorder to ask about the repair

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=296-10843-5-ND

Source of data that its a TPA6110A2 is unknown (somebody in the lets label this mofo thread), thus not 100% reliable, but if you're going to try, that would be my guess.

EDIT: I think the hardest part of the repair is to remove the old chip, since it seems this chip is also soldered down in the middle (I think for heat transfer). See: http://gs113.photobucket.com/groups/n213/I0S2J7KION/?action=view&current=final_board_1.jpg

it could be great to know the exact one, mweston u there? :)

anyway, the small chip on the right seems to be also fried. I can only see those two compenents affected.