2 Joypads on the Pyra. Easy?


worzyl

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
251
One of the things that was difficult on the Pandora was setting up a multiplayer game (Double Dragon, Bomberman etc) by connecting 2 or more joypads. Now that we have 2 USB slots I'm wondering will the Pyra come with software already built in to handle this out of the box?
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,229
Well you could just use a USB hub on the Pandora to get more than 2 USB controllers. But like the Pandora, how easy it is to deal with multiple controllers is dependent on the end software.
 

elvissteinjr

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
768
Age
26
Location
Germany
Main issue was that a lot of stuff was hardcoded to Pandora controls or you had bare minimum ports without easy configuration interfaces (still, props to everyone who ported stuff!). You'll probably be able to pull a lot of the software from the official repos this time around, which will retain full gamepad functionality if there was any.
 

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,629
Main issue was that a lot of stuff was hardcoded to Pandora controls or you had bare minimum ports without easy configuration interfaces (still, props to everyone who ported stuff!). You'll probably be able to pull a lot of the software from the official repos this time around, which will retain full gamepad functionality if there was any.

Which brings to light an entirely different side to the issue.

How to make the Pyra's game controls appear to repository applications as if they are some known game controller?
 

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
4,146
Maybe is it possible to implement some kind of "standard" configuration tool for DBP stuff ?
So the packages can get the controller information from there and update their support files before starting the application...

This could be tricky for some of them, giving the very different nature of the contents, and considering some "special" modifications @ptitSeb did directly on source code just for Pandora buttons, but for all the programs that uses external configuration files maybe could be obtainable...

EDIT: ninja'd by Grench
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
9,195
Age
49
Location
France, near Lyon
There will be funkey-monkey on the pyra, that shoul dbe abble to map any physical input to any software input...
 

worzyl

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
251
There will be funkey-monkey on the pyra, that shoul dbe abble to map any physical input to any software input...

Wasn't Funkey Monkey on the Pandora too? I'm sure it was and I couldn't get that to work either.
 

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,629
Pyra = 67 button dual joystick with built in touchscreen display.
 

sebt3

homebrew player (P. & C.)
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
4,885
Age
42
Location
France
Website
sebt3.openpandora.org
The issue for joystick with the pandora was that most port butched the input system of the games to support the pandora's weird input scheme.
On the pyra, there's a funkeyMoney plugin for that deed built in that provide a virtual joystick out of the pyra hardware. So the port wont need to change the input system. if you plug in a joystick on the usb port, it will be seen by the system as a secondary joystick.
That's going to solve your issues ;)

EDIT: I know for sure since I was one of the porter that "buched" the input system of the games. And I wrote *and* tested the funkeyMonkey plugin. I tested it with a 2nd joystick plugged in so I could compare the behaviour :p
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
15,732
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
In my recollection, most games that actually support reconfiguring the controls still support that; the Pandora (and Pyra) specific joystick layout (which it like that because it really speeds up navigating the desktop and entering text, and they're just extra buttons in that context) if the default but you should still be able to reconfigure it. Only games which haven't provided that feature as a menu item don't often get one added by the porter, but you might still be able to do it via a config file in your appdata folder, but the details on how to do that are often various and badly documented, but that's the fault of the original author, or perhaps the porter for not linking to that documentation properly. It's usually not hard to navigate from a port to it's original github or whatever source, where the original documentation lives. But yeah, you'd have to do that with everything you want to play every time you want to use the joystick most likely.
 

second exodous

Advanced Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,974
Location
Utah, USA
Blutooth is the way to go unless you absolutely need muscle memory like me, I have to play Mega Man with a NES controller or I can't even beat the Snake Man level. For everything else there are PS4 controllers that work great on Linux or even 8bitdo bluetooth controllers.

As for mapping that is always a problem on Linux, if the game/emulator allows remapping then I map my controllers with qjoypad and don't have a problem. Games/emulators that don't allow re-mapping, no matter how good they are, I just avoid. It is current year here , there is no reason not to code in re-mappable keys when games from the 80's have had this feature.

I never plugged in a second controller into the Pandora so I just always used the default controls. Are emulators configurable on the Pandora? I know some of the games had jump and shoot switched and I couldn't change the controls so I just gave up on them but that was only a few games.
 

canseco

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
885
Location
Spain
As TrashyMG said, i use an USB hub, and with Retroarch it works great once you configure the controllers in the menus.
Tested with 2 PS2 controllers connected with one USB adapter, but i'm sure 4 will work if the USB hub is powered.

As for mapping that is always a problem on Linux, if the game/emulator allows remapping then I map my controllers with qjoypad and don't have a problem.

I used qjoypad and antimicro before, but since SC-Controller latest versions, it supports almost any controller.
The Xbox emulation, autoswitcher and ingame OSD makes it very easy and lazy to use, ;).

Didn't know about this FunkeyMonkey thing, thx for the info.
 
Top