12 Frames Per Second?

arconreef

Still Fresh
If the Pandora's screen runs at 12fps... I mean c'mon, a movie's frame rate is more than twice that! Is it true that the Pandora runs at 12fps? Unless I'm mistaken, most videogames run at 20fps. I'm a noob, so could you please explain to me how 12fps could be acceptable? Am I wrong in saying that most videogames play at 20fps? It just seems to me, that 12fps would be to noticeably jerky. I'm probably wrong... :(

Ok, firstly, I'm unclear on your source that Pandora's screen is set to constantly display 12fps. This just isn't how screens work, unless the response time is very poor indeed (which I doubt). Given that 60fps needs approximately a 17ms response time and the Pandora's has been quoted to be a lot lower than that in another thread (no, I'm not going to source it, it was MWeston, so trawl his previous posts if you want details).

Also, Squidge mentioned in the Fba2x thread that he's coaxed ~300fps out of Pandora on code not optimized for it. It is most certainly capable of framerates higher than 12.

EDIT: Should add that the response time required was simply 1/60, which is probably a wildly inaccurate calculation, and that the 300fps figure would be internal fps rather than external - the software would be providing frames much faster than the screen could actually render them.

arconreef said:
If the Pandora's screen runs at 12fps... I mean c'mon, a movie's frame rate is more than twice that! Is it true that the Pandora runs at 12fps? Unless I'm mistaken, most videogames run at 20fps. I'm a noob, so could you please explain to me how 12fps could be acceptable? Am I wrong in saying that most videogames play at 20fps? It just seems to me, that 12fps would be to noticeably jerky. I'm probably wrong... :(
Wow...

My friend, with all due respect - you're very misinformed on all counts.