Wizardry port?

PortaPotty

Still Fresh
Are there any wizardry ports and if not what is the likelyhood of any of them getting ported to the pandora? I have no codeing experience so forgive me asking if its not possible.

Last edited by a moderator:
i know i would kill for them there really the only old dungeon crawlers i like never could get into dungeon master or eotb granted i suppose some would probably work since i think theres an appl2 emulator and if i remember the early ones were dos but native support would just be so friggin nice. i humbly throw my request to our most talented coders please get native wizardry i really don't care which one/s.

A "port" is where you get the original source code/artwork/audio/etc and hack around on it to make it fit on a new platform; ie: getting a honda civic and adding train-wheels to fit onto a train track.

--> Wizardry has never been open sourced

No one has 'decompiled' it, either, to 'make source'.

Running it under emulation can be done.. ie: Wizardry 7 (Dark Savant) is available for DOS and runs fine in DosEmu (and other solutions.)

Wizardry 8 is getting old too, but not yet within our reach, but mobile devices are certainly in the ballpark now/soon for that..

Wizardry is a very old series, wiz 1-7 run easily in emualtion, just Wiz8 is the holdout..

jeff

yea i know just never liked dosbox when using it on the pc was always a bit finnicky for my tastes but i suppose its worth it. also are there any programs for mapping in old games like wizardry i could get graph paper isnt very portable.

Funny you mention that.. there are some (lame) mapping apps around.. not sure if any are ported to pandora.

I was going to write a (lame ;) mapping tool, that was very focused for text adventures and RPGs, but never got around to it; there are some java ones which might run on pandora in the java port WizStan supports, or maybe for Android on pandora..

Old school Real Man RPGs definately needed players making maps :)