GP2X Some Beginner Dev Questions

Jaguarandine

I'd like to begin GP2X programming, but I'm not sure how to start exactly. Here's the situation

Currently I have a BoB, with the GP2X (F100 MK2) connected to my computer (Ubuntu 9.10) via serial and parallel port cables. I want to be able to access the gp2x's command line remotely from my computer, because that would be the easiest way to debug programs, right? So, I tried to do so with Minicom. For some reason, Minicom seems to be trapping all keyboard commands sent to the gp2x, including CRTL-C needed to get past the initial boot-up display. Now admittedly, I am a bash and linux noob, but I followed all the instructions listed on the GP2X wiki website. PuTTY didn't work either, and actually reset my serial port permissions every time I used it. I even tried to mess with my serial port's permissions and stty settings, to no avail.

With that failure, I am confused on how to continue. USB serial?..telnet?..try serial again?..termula2x?..switch the SD card over and over? Which one is the best? I am quite lost. :(

What is best is simply which is less hassle for you and not hindering your productivity.
For instance I just copy to SD at last minute usually for GP2X apps. and the majority of the time if it's working fine on the PC, it will work fine on the GP2X.
The GP2X can do some things differently with SDL at time, however...
You could try the USB serial, although I suspect you'd get similar results so I'm not sure.
If it's wasting too much of your time just use cout or sprintf console output around suspect areas and log it to a file.