Repository Or Manual Downloads?

huufarted

Still Fresh
Now, I'm not a C programmer and I haven't done a lot of programming or installing on the Linux side, but how does that work? A few questions relating to this:

Will there be an official repository for the Pandora and updates on it?

As far as repositories go, I gather it's a way to have a central place to find updates for programs that reside on that repository.

How does that work? I use an iPod Touch and the repositories there are divided into categories and such so you can see which 'games' and which 'utilities' are there and what versions they are. If you tap it, it installs to the appropriate places from that repository.

I think it will be just manual download through the file archive, but this is just a guess

Kyosys said:
I think it will be just manual download through the file archive, but this is just a guess
Ok, so what do you mean by file archive? Is it just going to be a list of programs on a web page or will the Pandora be able to reference it automatically similar to how a repository is?

Then again, if it referenced it auto, that would MAKE it a repository wouldn't it?

Last edited by a moderator:
At the moment, it's currently manual download. I'd be suprised if this was still the case in November however.

The pandora file archive. it's a website with all the pandoras downloads. Chip posted a link somewhere.

Getting together a user friendly app dowloader/installer and a cli package manager would be high priorities for me.

Anything to make the user experience better and help ensure solid compatibility and a 'known' set of libraries etc to work against is A Good Thing™.

hotblack, I like how you think.

I'm none too familiar with this whole community or even Linux (both of which I've been spending more time familiarizing myself with while I have time), but I do know the PSP homebrew community and wish there was more of a togetherness about it.