Gp2x Dreadfully Slow ?

erwam.bancal

Still Fresh
Hi I am new to gp2x development and yesterday I tried to make a rotate sprite routine.
I didn't work and at first I fought it just crashed. But after a while I worked out that it was just dreadfully slow.

So I made a test to see how slow it was, it looked like that :
CODE

unsigned tick1 = SDL_GetTicks ();
for (unsigned i=0; i<420; ++i)
{
for (unsigned j=0; j<280; ++j)
{
float result = 10.12564f * i + 11.256544f*j;
}
}
unsigned tick2 = SDL_GetTicks ();
fprintf(stderr, "It took %i milisecondes", tick2 - tick1);

And this took a little les that 5 seconds !
I am aware that the gp2x has no fpu so I made a test with integers.

CODE

unsigned tick1 = SDL_GetTicks ();
for (unsigned i=0; i<420; ++i)
{
for (unsigned j=0; j<280; ++j)
{
// for a rotate sprite function I need at least 10 integer mult and div :
// ten multiplication and division (integers)
}
}

unsigned tick2 = SDL_GetTicks ();
fprintf(stderr, "It took %i milisecondes", tick2 - tick1);

This took 300 milisec, I am aware that this is not optmised at all etc. But how are you supposed to make a decent 2d game with that power ? Is sprite rotation out of the question ?
Or is my unit bust ? I don't think so because I managed to run a 3d game demo.

All in all I am wondering : Is software sprite rotation possible ?

Thanks for your answers, I am really lost here.

PS: I am using the default gcc compiler optimisations.
--
Al'

Hi. I just ran your first test and I get a result of tick2 - tick1 = 3.

Edit: The result varies - sometimes it is 2, sometimes 3. If I clock the GP2X to run at 50 it returns 11 or 12.

Thanks a lot, I am relieved.. so it must be something on my side or my hardware is dead.
What does that mean " I clock the GP2X to run at 50 " is that 50 MHz instead of 200 MHz ?

--
Al'