Emulation Help

bohnje

Still Fresh
Sorry I am a caanoo noob but i downloaded the GBA emulator gpsp and whenever I run it it just crashes on the loading screen. I am pretty sure i followed all of the instructions in the documentation. Does any one know whats wrong?

Also i have mame4all but can't get the original donkey kong to run, on load it says that it is missing files but i have tried multiple sources for the rom and always get the same problem

thanks,
Bohnje

Did you put the bios with the emuls ?

Gpsp needs gba_bios in sd/game/gpsp

Uae4all needs kick.rom in sd/game/uae4all

Kick.rom is kickstart 1.3.adf renamed.

EDIT : read too fast :D

if it helps it says its loading a bunch of files and then says
dkong.2k not found
dkong.2i not found
dkong.5f not found

Hmm... dkong.2k, dkong.2i, dkong.5f are all MAME files related to MAME4ALL. The GBA Emulator requires the GBA Rom put into the Root Directory as GBA.ROM
The GBA Emulator I run is gpsp. Make sure the .ini is correctly pointing to the main program, title screen, and icon. I put the Games into a ROM directory. Also make sure that each line of the .ini is in it's own separate line, not the Single Lined with semi-colons or Comas.

The only issue I have with gpsp is the Automated 700 MHZ speed pre-programed into the Emulator. I have to kick it down to 550 MHZ to get most games to work properly. 700 MHZ is too fast and screws up the sound. Try playing Tron 2.0 at 700 MHZ. Bruce Boxlightner sounds like a Chipmunk and is barely audible. I kick it down to 550 MHZ and it sounds like Bruce. Unfortunately, you can't set the speed down to a Global Setting for all ROMS, or Save the Settings for the Individual Games. There is only the default and you have to change the options during game play, and then each and every time you want to play each game. Really Annoying. There are Glitches with Golden Sun and other games, but it doesn't keep it from being playable. I haven't tried any of the 3 Castlevania games yet.