Disk Failure Is Imminent

ChaosWarmech

NOOOOOO! So I'm using 2 Seagate HDDs I bought from Newegg a few years ago, and just a few minute ago Disk Utility(ubuntu) just popped up telling me that the one that houses my Win7 install is failing. It says there are 2734 bad sectors, what errors would this cause? And how long do you think I have until it dies completely? Seeing as I just bought my Pandy this paycheck I don't have the money right now for a new HDD...

Also, do you think I should expect my 2nd drive to fail soon too, since they are both exactly the same and bought at the same time?

Were they internal or external? I'm no expert, just curious.

I've always had really bad luck with seagates (maybe just me). I had a few go down with the click of death, and I lost 6 years of data on one because I only had one, and didn't keep any redundant backups. The platters separated from the motor, something literally just let go of the platters and the long-arm pretty much scratched the plates to bits. It was an external, I suppose it was cause I was too rough with it at times when it clearly wasn't warranted for. After that I switched to western digital black's because they add extra supports on both ends to protect it from tilting, and other junk.

I don't know if your second one will fail, but I'd sure as hell back it up the best you can in case it does. [/obvious]

The disk utility generally tells me that when you start to get bad sectors because of surface damage, the whole drive may or may not go completely dead. And normally when you have bad sectors, you normally cannot read certain files. Like I said before, don't quote me, I'm no expert at all.

Last edited by a moderator:
The number of damaged sectors you have is enough for not turning the HD on anymore but for one reason, a full backup.