Bulging Battery

blah blah blah....

BAD IDEA.

These are not normal Lthium-Ion batteries. If you accidentally puncture a Lithium-Ion Polymer battery, it can easily go up in flames. And I think that's an understatement.

Yes I know, but I'm fairly certain that inside the wrapping, there are smaller LiPo cells that could be removed carefully and with minimal risk, then disposed of hilariously or sensibly, depending on individual choice. I haven't tried it on my pandora battery, but I have some experience of batteries, and they are virtually always composed of multiple smaller cells. Certainly, don't do it unless you like playing with fire though. But what sort of lunatic doesn't like playing with fire?

This is a single cell battery, note the 3.7v marking. Also, in LiPo packs or pretty much any battery pack there are no "smaller" cells they are all the same size and usually also resistance matched.

Last edited by a moderator:
I little off-topic, but I noticed that one of my old Lithium-ion battery (not Li-Po) has a huge bulge in it. Twas surprised.

Is that possible? Li-Ion cells are in metal cans, they don't bulge they simply either have their over pressure valve go or explode.

one of my old GBA's always bulges its batteries, 3 so far before i decided it was the GBA fault and not crappy batteries

Does HF6 completely solve the bulging battery problem?

I do some dev on my Pandora, and usually have it charging while it compiles something for hours, would it be better to leave it unplugged for this or not?

Does HF6 completely solve the bulging battery problem?

I do some dev on my Pandora, and usually have it charging while it compiles something for hours, would it be better to leave it unplugged for this or not?