Win32 To Sdl - Porting A Windows Engine For C++

SiegfriedCroes

Game Developer | Pixel Artist
I'm studying Digital Arts and entertainment and one of the things we learn is programming in C++. For this, our teacher has written a simple game engine and I really like it, It would be cool if it could be ported to run on the Pandora, that way, I and other beginner programmers can easily make a game. So now I was wondering, is it possible to rewrite an engine written with Win32 functions to SDL functions? The source is open, well I think it is, I got the source but I think I will have to ask first if I can post it here. Also, is it worth it? or are there already enough user friendly c++ game engines for beginners?

It really depends on how complex that "game engine" is. If the source is open and its not too big and complex there shouldn't be any problem to port it over.
Personally I think there are by far too many similar engines available, but I still keep writing my own one because I need one which is made for my projects and not a general engine which could be used for anything. I also want to have influence on the tools and the whole content creation pipeline which kinda forces me to write my own engine.
So wether its worth it or not depends on your needs. If you really like your teachers engine - go and port it if it doesn't take longer than writing your own one, and if you just want a game engine in general google for one which is cross-plattform already.

The code is not that long, but ofcourse if there are other engines that already work for the Pandora than maybe those would be a better choice. I just need to have a basic one, things like tilebased map drawing (what I will need) I could write myself. Do anyone know of a good one, a 2D only engine, as I don't need 3D, and compatible with the Pandora? Or maybe this is already discussed in another topic, please give a link to that topic then.