Will you upgrade

Discussion in 'General talk' started by declaration, Nov 5, 2003.

?

How many people are planning to upgrade their rams to 32mb. Will you

  1. do it as soon as possible

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. do it when programs begin to show the benefits

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. do it when someone starts an upgrade service

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. will probably do it eventually

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. will never do it

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. declaration

    declaration "

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    UK
    I was thinking of doing the upgrade soon (with help from professionals) and was wondering whether it was worth it.
    I figured that if many people do it, the advantages will become apparent in the future such as with the release of optimised programmes etc.
    However if nobody does it and the larger ram does nothing really, then i will probably just play safe.
    Thanks for your answers. This is a very exciting develoment. :)
     
    Tags:
  2. taras

    taras Mega Pandora mania

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    Scotland
    I will never do it, because I never want to alter my gp32 in any way. So one day, I will have a perfect, unmodded FLU and it will fetch loadsamoney as a vintage console. nerr! :p
     
  3. declaration

    declaration "

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    UK
    Or you could do it and it would be even rarer........ You could then sell it as a "Super GP32" and make enough money to retire. ;)
     
  4. Deep Thought

    Deep Thought Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Oklahoma, United States
    I have no technical skills <_< . Plus I would rather wait for the gp64, if it ever actually comes out. On a side note, i'm new here. Hi!
     
  5. ColinR

    ColinR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Herts. UK
    I believe I have the skills to do it, but my GP would be a pretty pricey paperweight were I to screw it up. If it turns out that MameGP were to run bigger Rom games with 32meg fitted, I may just do it.
     
  6. zboy9

    zboy9 かっこいいね。

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    748
    nah, I won't ever do it, and I will probably give up the GP32 soon. I am planing on buying a RCA lyra audio/video jukebox or an Archos av320 because I am more interested in movies and music than games and programming. :(
     
  7. jot2b

    jot2b Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Hello and welcome, Deep Thought.

    zboy, that's too bad, but I guess it's like that Apple Jacks commercial: we eat what we like! LOL. Hope you still hang out here if you do give up your machine.

    My vote is no, never, because I know I do not have the tools, soldering skills, or gonads to pull off a ram upgrade. The only time I might consider it is after watching a step-by-step video of the process, and even then I'd wait for a working 64mb version.

    Besides, everyone should by now realize all those old posts were right: the GP32 is dead, and everyone should send me their units for five dollars. Thank you.
     
  8. Shaking Spirit

    Shaking Spirit ArchChancellor of UU

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    First off, goto hell and stay there :D
    Second, When we get decent speed emulaters (I.E, GBA, SNES, Genisis, etc) then i'll upgrade.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  9. zboy9

    zboy9 かっこいいね。

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    748
    he's right, the GP32 is dead, unless the GP32 gets released in Europe. If it doesn't, all you guys that say that it is not dead, well, look at this. It has been out for years, and for all we know only 15,000 have been sold and Gamepark has stopped production until april 2004. dead? I think so.
     
  10. Steve-O

    Steve-O Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,054
    GP32 Will never Die!!! What do you mean by "The GP32 is Dead" People that say that are idiots :p ... Have you not Saw the HL 2D game that will most probably be released for GP32 and the New 3D Engines???? :D

    The Commercial Game production is a little dead looking but who cares... I and most other people got GP32's for Emulation like NES, ATARI, Master System Etc Etc and theirs 1000nds and 1000nds of games for them consolse's. Also New DOOM Wads are being released which makes Doom into almost a New looking game. Homebrew games and ports are still being released.

    In my opinion The GP32 Scene isn't Dead, Its Just begun B)
     
  11. Sponge BoB

    Sponge BoB Custom member title

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    498
    gamepark and thefore gp32 production may be heading towards death but i think it will be a long time before the gp32 scene itself dies out. somewhat like the dreamcast scene
     
  12. Tobriand

    Tobriand Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Croydon (UK)
    And with a bit of luck, Gamepark production won't die completely either. Although that will need luck...
     
  13. Azure

    Azure Trust the recursion...

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,805
    Location:
    California, USA
    do it when someone starts an upgrade service
     
  14. declaration

    declaration "

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    UK
    so most people seem willing to upgrade in the end....... Its now just up to people to devise some uses for it...... It looks like it could broaden the horizons of our GP32s.
     
  15. mek

    mek Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    NL
    voted: do it when someone starts an upgrade service

    I once tried a volt mod on my 3 weeks old epox 8rda mobo.... it died :(
     
  16. Steve-O

    Steve-O Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,054
    I chipped my PS2.... It Lived :) hehe
     
  17. Dozer

    Dozer Efram the retarded rabbit

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,034
    Location:
    Exeter
    When i get the guts im gona try and mod the flu switch, it turns on in my pocket wen im usin it as an mp3 player and drains the battery <_< so im on the look out for a more robust switch.
     

Share This Page

Loading...