What's The Best Version Of Afterburner?

Discussion in 'I need help' started by darklight1138, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. darklight1138

    darklight1138 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Can't get the arcade or the Sega 32x version to work. Only one I can get to work is the Genesis version, and it doesn't work very well. There's an Afterburner 3 for the Sega CD but it sucks bad.

    So what's the best version of the game, closest to the arcade version that works on Wiz? Thanks!
     
    Tags:
  2. dnlgreenwood

    dnlgreenwood I'LL END YOU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Have you tried the Master System or PC-Engine versions?
     
  3. darklight1138

    darklight1138 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Yeah, I tried those but the buttons are limited. Guess I was hoping for a good MAME version but apparently the game isn't compatible with the MAME for the Wiz. :(
     
  4. dnlgreenwood

    dnlgreenwood I'LL END YOU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Well, the Master System version is my favourite, especially when I play it on the Master System.
     
  5. Mr.TwisT

    Mr.TwisT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    The Arcade version ran on the SEGA arcade systems, which the MAME does not support. The 32x support is not yet implemented in picodrive. You're best bet are the turbografx and mastersystem versions.
     
  6. darklight1138

    darklight1138 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Ah, that answers some questions. Are there plans to implement 32x support or is there another emulator that does or is it just something that's too much for the Wiz to handle?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  7. dnlgreenwood

    dnlgreenwood I'LL END YOU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    The Caanoo version of Picodrive does support the 32x, and 32x games don't play very well on that (I've noticed some slowdown, I think). It may be too much for the Wiz to handle, I think.

    Edit: nonsense removed.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  8. trickytree

    trickytree Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Wiz Picodrive runs 32X also, it's just that After Burner doesn't load.
     

Share This Page

Loading...