What WM/DE will Pyra OS use?

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by ekke, Oct 20, 2015.

  1. ekke

    ekke Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Will it be XFCE like the original Pandora or will it use something more touchscreen-friendly like Gnome 3?
     
    Tags:
  2. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    XFCE4 is what we're using on the devboards, but since it's running essentially just debian jessie with just a pyra specific repository, you're free to just apt-get install Gnome3 or KDE if that is your bag.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 20, 2015
  3. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    I'm using KDE4 and XFCE4.
    KDE4 is nice, but if I need more speed, I'll switch to XFCE4.
     
    sebt3 likes this.
  4. Ziz

    Ziz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,587
    As the pandora has a very nice keyboard, the default will be of course awesome. ;)
     
    Alperoot and ible like this.
  5. ible

    ible professional vim user

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    i've used awesome before, and i'm using i3 right now.  certain things on awesome were better (new window locations were better ootb), and certain things on i3 are better (multi-monitor support, can switch to low-res screen without errors).  i kinda want something in between, something minimalistic, which doesn't even use a panel, so i can pop one of my own choosing in there.
     
  6. lukey

    lukey Rare Species

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Germany
    Maybe you should take a look at evilwm, but i think thats too minimalistic for you. And because the Pyra will have Ctrl and Alt on the Shoulder buttons, evilwm will be my WM of choice.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 20, 2015
    ible likes this.
  7. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,053
    I plan to attempt to get CDE working on it.
     
    rygD likes this.
  8. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,360
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I don't know if I have heard of evilwm (although I have looked into a variety), but I find the name to be suitable.  Think about it: DragonBox Pyra, running Debian with evilwm, made by EvilDragon (and others).

    KDE (with some customization of settings) is my first choice, but I will be installing CDE and maybe something else that is lightweight.  I used to try a variety of DEs and such, but after a while I kinda stuck with KDE, so I am missing out on a lot.  I have wanted to try some tiling WMs for a couple years.  I doubt it will work out well with the small display and how I do things, but maybe on a laptop it would be ok.
     
  9. bzar

    bzar A Commando

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    Finland
    I typically use KDE because of good customizability to suit my typical three-display setup, a couple of handy plasmoids and ways to manage the gazillions of windows from equally many contexts I typically have laying around :p. My fallback is i3, which I'll probably use on Pyra to leverage the game controls for window management. It should suit it better since I don't expect to have as much going on on it at any given time.
     
  10. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,360
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I was interested in ratpoison due to it being focused on keyboard use.  I don't need something like that really, especially if the Pyra nubs and touchscreen work well. i3 seems popular. Can someone offer a few suggestions for tiling WMs they feel will be a good choice for the Pyra, and maybe a brief explanation of why they may be better than others?
     
  11. Antartica

    Antartica Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    I'm using ratpoison right now in my pandora and it is reasonable. I have the panel disabled (definitely not usable in ratpoison), but the desktop works ok. It is really  nice having all apps being opened full screen, and being able to open apps using a key combination, even from the sdcard. For example, for opening FireFox using "Ctrl-t e", I have in my .ratpoisonrc the following (yes, I know that is a rather old version...):

    bind e exec pnd_run /media/mmcblk0p1/pandora/apps/firefox-13.0-1.pnd

    I'll continue using ratpoison in the Pyra, that's for sure O:)
     
  12. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,053
    DWM is pretty nice!
     
  13. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    Is xfce the right choice by default though? Why not prefer openbox instead?
     
  14. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    familiarity for Pandora users perhaps?, what can openbox do that others can't?
     
  15. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,747
    Location:
    France
    lightweightness :p that something xfce lost along the lines
     
  16. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    Maybe, but I still run idle on the devboard at ~100MBs, about 78MB on first boot with XFCE4 to me that's still fairly lightweight.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2015
  17. Kev2442

    Kev2442 Still French

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    42 (Loire) is the answer.
    How does KDE Plasma 5 run ? Looks really good and I think it will be on my first definitive Linux PC.
     
  18. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,747
    Location:
    France
    by the state of it on debian/sid for x86, I'm not  ready to test this on pyra
     
  19. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    Openbox runs on twice less the RAM, and runs about twice faster as well.
     
  20. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    Without tweaking it looks like ass too... Maybe someone can come up with a nice default layout for it...
     

Share This Page

Loading...