1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

What does your Pandora's desktop look like? Share screenshots here!

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Prometheus, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. Prometheus

    Prometheus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,474
    As the title suggests, this thread is for sharing screenshots of how your Pandora's desktop environment (be that Xfce, Minimenu, or whatever else you happen to be using) is currently looking. You can use this guide to set up a screenshot script and assign it to a hotkey combination of your choosing.


    Here's how mine looks at the time of writing;


    [​IMG]


    I'm using a pretty much uncustomised Xfce (I've only added a few hotkeys and tweaked the launcher icons on the panel a bit), and my current desktop background is made from some old high-resolution press-kit images from Mega Man & Bass.


    How does your Pandora's setup look right now?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2016
    Tags:
  2. slaeshjag

    slaeshjag ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,666
    Location:
    ~Stockholm, Sweden
    Pretty standard xfce here too


    [​IMG]
     
  3. iampanis

    iampanis Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    61
  4. DaMummy

    DaMummy Soldier Paste

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,417
    Location:
    Ohio
    i gotta say Prometheus, above all else, you are very consistent...
     
  5. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    pretty standard again :p

    screen110308-210030.png
     
  6. gruso

    gruso thunderbox

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,461
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    [​IMG]


    :D


    (wbar + conky. Hotfix 5 is not there any more.)
     
  7. el_pango

    el_pango Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    California
    Reporting in.


    desktop.png


    Pretty vanilla XFCE setup here, the only real customization is the terminal font (azuki_font.ttf) and the heavy use of translucency.


    Gruso: I love what you've done with Conky - any chance we could get a look at the conf file for that?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2011
  8. gruso

    gruso thunderbox

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,461
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Credit to Spirit for the Conky config. Details in this thread, post #6:
     
  9. IsSuE

    IsSuE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Upper Austria
    damn zexy, really have to toy around with wbar myself
     
  10. peelie

    peelie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    887

    anyideas why the script results in that A character for temperature?


    also do you get mounting issues where wbar and/or conky won't show/mount; or if wbar does start does it loses an application in launcher and also wbar confif won't open.


    sorry for off topic!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2011
  11. Prometheus

    Prometheus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,474
    @DaMummy - I have no idea what you could possibly mean. :p


    @milkshake - If you'd taken that snapshot one minute earlier, the clock would have read 13:37.


    @Gruso - WOW, that looks awesome! Getting to see (and learn more about) stuff like that is one of the reasons I started this thread. :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 9, 2011
  12. gruso

    gruso thunderbox

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,461
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The misplaced A is usually the type of thing you see when a font doesn't support a special character. Maybe it can be fixed in the scripts, but to be honest I've never looked in there!


    I haven't had the other issues you asked about. There's lots of good info in the wbar thread though, might be worth asking there:
     
  13. Vitel

    Vitel Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    561
  14. gruso

    gruso thunderbox

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,461
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Very cool vminko :)
     
  15. Prometheus

    Prometheus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,474
    It's better than bad, it's good! [​IMG]
     
  16. XxionxX

    XxionxX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    @vminko I really like it, very simplistic/zen.


    I wish I had a Panda so I could participate! :(
     
  17. el_pango

    el_pango Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    California
  18. LineOf7s

    LineOf7s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  19. second exodous

    second exodous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,702
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    @ vminko: Have you gotten .PNDs to work in Gentoo? If so I'm totally dumping Ångström for Gentoo when I get mine!
     
  20. Austin25

    Austin25 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Alright let me just...


    Oh yeah, I don't have it yet. :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...