Ubuntu On Pandora

chame

I am new in this comunity, but fortunatelly I could order a pandora before they run out.

It is a nice piece of hardware, I couldnt find anything simmilar on the market. but I am a bit worried about the OS. This is not related with the last news about wifi and movie HW acceleration, I am pretty sure those problems will be fixed in a short period. I am thinking in long term, from now to the next 5 years.

while this project is supported by lets say 4000 developers, (much less for sure), I am afraid the developing rate will decline until very few people continue with the coding. Is not about knowledge or sacrifice. Quality of the OP products, software etc can be excellent, but is just that the developers life change, and they will have other priorities, other projects etc.

Ubuntu by contrast seems to have a wider support. many other devices with arm cpu will benefit from the ubuntu distribution. It is a much bigger company supported by hundreds of thousands of users. and this is what I am looking for, a long term support.

we could make a big effort to have the OS and other SW ready and updated, but at the end, we are a very small community. developers are working 100% right now, but they cannot have that work rate forever. it is difficult and expensive to mantain a system in such way.

so my primary desire is to install ubuntu and stuck with it. update with the ubuntu repositories and eventually update pandora specific drivers. I think pandora developers should center in this aspect, rather than develop and mantain the whole OS. but anyway my worries are: ¿there will be updated drivers for ubuntu? I saw a video of a pandora running ubuntu in 2008. ¿did anyone try a recent distribution? ¿which is the compatibility with available pandora drivers? (wifi, BT, TVout, 3D-ogl...)

thanks

chame said:
¿there will be updated drivers for ubuntu?