Thinking Of Purcahsing A Gp32 Blu

GA01

Website
Visit site
Hi Guys

Noob here so please be kind :). I've been thinking about getting a GP32 BLU (166 MHz) since Mame got ported recently. What I would like to know is how well does Mame GP32 play the old style games at 166 MHz? This would include running games with sound and full speed. I know it's still early days yet but has the GP32 got the potential to run all these games without any problems (at a later date once Mame GP32 has matured).

Thanks

:)

MAME is running great for a first release. Games like Pac-Man, MrDO!, Etc run at full speed w/sound now. This is said to improve even more and if/when DrZ80 ASM core is added expect speed to increase dramatically for many games in future versions. Don't forget about the other emus too. Many of those run great too like DrMD genesis emu, PC-Engine etc.

That is good news, especially for a first release :). If Mame GP32 was to mature (and hopefully will over time), what types of games can we expect to be able to run (given the limitation of the hardware)? Btw, I'm not expecting Neo-Geo, CPS2, etc. Is Bubble Bobble or R-Type 1/2 playable? I love those games.

The Pc-Engine/Turbografx Emulation is what shines the most on the GP32 with Perfect sound and near perfect emulation(some game just dont work right and this is not a GP32 problem because the home computer versions of the Pc-Engine/Turbografx emulators also have problems running those certain games) B)

R-Type on the PC engine is near arcade perfect and runs perfect on the GP32, it is still one of my favorite games. The PC engine has some of the best arcade conversions ever.

-Craig

www.gbax.com

id say about 70% of the MAME compatibility list plays full speed with sound... thats one hell of an achievment...

MAME and DrMD are brilliant... world beating apps... :D :D :D

and make the GP32 the best buy handheld for retro games!