Caanoo / WIZ Speeding Up Wiz Bootup

TitanUranus

Ok - this might be a really stupid idea, I'm not a developer but I have to ask this question:

Would it be possible to overclock the wiz to - say 800mhz - immediately once it's turned on so all the faffing around it obviously has to go through when booting could be done in less time. Once finally booted it could just pop clock speed back to a reasonable 533mhz (maybe even 532mhz to compensate for power consumed during booting - ha ha)? This really shouldn't drain battery (much) as the incredibly tedious farting around (I think it's called "processing") it'd be doing would still be the same. It would be better to boot up and get it over with in 5 seconds at 800mhz then return to 533mhz, than plodding along and booting up in 10 seconds at 533mhz - taxing my miniscule patience (this theory is not based on my sex life). Ok so I'm crap at maths but you get the idea - and before you really slate me and tell me what an idiot I am for suggesting this, then giving me a million reasons it can't/won't/shouldn't be done, I'm only asking a civilised question. And don't tell me I should learn to program either - I know I should, but I can't right now 'cause I have a headache.

PS. Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place. Also let me add a genuine and heartfelt "thank you" to ALL developers who've contributed to the wiz, it's a lovely little machine and I and many others appreciate your work and hope it continues.

TitanUranus said:
Ok - this might be a really stupid idea, I'm not a developer but I have to ask this question: